Enjoying the Sun and Sap!

DSCF0268

84 degrees….well in the greenhouse at least, ( 38 outside ) made it a good day to clean up and get ready for the coming season.

greenhouse 2014

Planted lettuce and spinach.

While doing some general yard clean-up I thought that I might give a couple of pointers about what type of ground to look (or not look) for if you are wanting to homestead.

pasture

When looking for land make sure it is southern facing. Or you will have snow long after everyone else is thawed. Ok if, you like to ski, not so good if you need it for pasture. (Live and learn) Another thing to look at is if it has a spring, like ours does. I will admit that I really liked the idea of the babbling brook in my backyard, the soothing sound of water, aahhh. Then it rained and my babbling brook turned into a raging rapid taking everything in its path. I do still enjoy the steam and we have learned to be prepared for the rain. (Live and learned)

Our new project this year is Maple syrup. A friend of ours bought my husband some spiles (sap spouts) for tapping the trees. So we found these twin maples up in the woods and drilled the holes as directed, hung the clean jugs.

sap drip

twin maples

And had 2 gallons of sap the next day,( WOW ) sounds like a lot but once you get done boiling it down, which we will do on the wood stove, we will have about 1 pint of syrup. Can’t wait to taste it!

I found these guys enjoying the sun as much as I was!

Red and Rox

Have a Sunny Day!!

Leave a Reply,We love to hear from you!

