Easy BlackBerry Pie

This is an easy pie with only 3 ingredients, not including the crust.

BlackBerry Pie

BlackBerry Pie

You will need:

2 – 9″ pie crusts

4 cups blackberries

2 tablespoons of flour

1/2 cup sugar

Preheat oven to 450°

Put berries in a large mixing bowl. Add flour and sugar, then mix together.

20150802_090522

Spread mixture into crust, I also use a Blackbird (well, mines white) in the middle of my pie to help release the steam, but it is not necessary.

20150802_090930

Cover with top crust. Moisten the edge of the bottom crust so the top crust will form a nice seal. Then cut slits into top crust. Have some fun with it, make a design or someone’s name, if it’s for a gift. I tried to make little bird foot prints.

Pastry edging

Pastry edging

A simple, easy way to seal the 2 crusts is to take a fork, dip it into flour then press it on the edge of the crust to seal all the way around. Take a knife and trim any excess.

20150802_091424

Lightly brush with water, then sprinkle with sugar.

Bake at 450° for 15 minutes,  then reduce the temperature to 350° for 35 minutes. Cover last 10 minutes if the crust starts to get to brown.

Tip: When the crust is golden brown and the juice starts to bubble through the slits a little, the pie is done.

Enjoy it plain, with ice cream or just some powered sugar sprinkled on top.

View this and many other great recipes on Tuesday Garden Party, Homestead Blog HopOur Simple Homestead Blog Hop & From the Farm.

22 thoughts on “Easy BlackBerry Pie

  1. I haven’t made blackberry pie in a while. But I have been seeing lots of good priced blackberries recently. Thanks for sharing at the Tuesday Garden Party.

  2. Never too old to learn something new! I’ve never seen a pie crust done quite like that. Will have to try it out! Come to think of it – I haven’t seen my pie bird for ages. I will have to do a search. Hope it didn’t fly the coop 😉

  3. Yum! I love blackberry pie. I never got around to making one this year when the berries were in full swing, but I have plenty in the freezer so this could still happen!

  4. Pingback: Never Fail Pie Crust | Homesteading on 4D Acres

  5. I love the bird, I’ve never seen one of those! I’ll have to be on the lookout now, I’d like to have one (even though I don’t think I’ve ever made a pie)! Thanks for sharing on the Homestead Blog Hop!

  6. I love the little bird, I’ve never one of those! I’ll be on the lookout for one now, I’d love to have one (even though I don’t think I’ve ever made pie)! I’ll get a bird, and try your recipe, it sounds delish! Thanks for sharing on the Homestead Blog Hop!

  7. Pingback: Homestead Blog Hop #44 - Idlewild AlaskaIdlewild Alaska

  8. Pingback: Homestead Blog Hop #44 - The Not So Modern Housewife

  9. Pingback: Treasure | Homesteading on 4D Acres

Leave a Reply,We love to hear from you!

