Never Fail Pie Crust

This recipe came from my Grandmother, so I apologize I do not know where it originated from. But I get compliments on it all the time. Since everyone liked my “Easy Blackberry Pie” recipe, I thought I would share my crust.

crust ingredients

crust ingredients

Ingredients:

3 Cups Flour

1 1/4 Cups shortening

1 tsp Salt

1 Egg

5 Tablespoons water

1 Tablespoon White Vinegar

Cut Shortening into flour and salt.

Pastry Blender

Pastry Blender

Until it resembles fine crumbles

20150802_083612

Crumbles

Combine egg, water and vinegar.

water, vinegar, egg

water, vinegar, egg

Pour liquid into flour mixture all at once. Blend just until the flour is all moistened. Do not over work. This crust recipe is for approximately 3 crusts. ( I have been know to make 4) I find it best to break it into balls, so you are not over working the crust.

20150802_084723

Pie Crust

Roll crust out to fit your pan (I use a glass pie pan I think the crust cooks better) and fill with your favorite filling.

Enjoy!

Tip: This crust can be kept in the fridge for up to a week. (If you can wait that long) But I find it best to have it rolled out and in the pan, all wrapped and waiting for you.

I have also frozen this crust, in the pan, with great success.

4 thoughts on “Never Fail Pie Crust

  1. Pingback: Homemade Mini Pies | Homesteading on 4D Acres

  2. Pingback: Homemade Mini Apple Pies | Homesteading on 4D Acres

Leave a Reply,We love to hear from you!

