10 things I’ve learned living in the Country

I grew up in a “wealthy suburb”, as I call it. But, I do come from a long line of farmers so it was no surprise that I enjoy the country. Then, when I met my husband and he tells me that he has chickens in the woods in his back yard, I knew it was fate. So I was asked to come up with a list of things I’ve learned. I had to think about it and had fun writing my list hope you enjoy.

10 things I have learned in no particular order:

  1. If you plant a garden and think it will grow, then You Believe.
  2. Tanning is free
  3. Animals are a lot of hard work and they die which is even harder!
  4. Weeds grow faster then your plants in the garden.
  5. Pulling weeds is relaxing!?
  6. Geese are great lawnmowers!
  7. Putting up hay is a hot, itchy job unless you are the truck driver.
  8. Favorite shoes are boots
  9. Every store is 20 minutes away, at least, so you have to plan. (That also saves you money)
  10. Hanging laundry outside is legal and my clothes smell so good!

I’m sure I learned a lot more but I generally just try to enjoy everyday and hope for the best and I am thankful for everything I’ve learned good, bad or other wise. Have a great day everybody.

Visit this and other great posts at Homestead Blog Hop & Our Simple Homestead Blog Hop

6 thoughts on “10 things I’ve learned living in the Country

  1. I grew up on a farm in the country, so a lot of this list really resonates! Especially the free tans (though they come with obnoxious tan lines). And weeds DO grow faster than anything else!

Leave a Reply,We love to hear from you!

