Pumpkin Decorations

Well since the pumpkin season outside is coming to an end, it is time to make some homemade pumpkins that will brighten up any shelf.  After digging around my wood shop, I found an old handrail and thought of pumpkins. Strange, I know but I once thought of Santa when I looked at a piece of bark but I will save that one for Christmas. So gather up some sticks for the stems on the pumpkins, some orange paint and a drill (I love my drill, believe it or not I got for my birthday) and let the fun begin.
The first thing I did was cut the railing in pieces ranging from 1 1/2 to 3 inches in length.

DSCF1306

Wooden hand railing cut into pieces

I sanded the pieces a little to take the sharp edges off.

I put on 2 coats of orange paint. Allowed them to thoroughly dry for a day.

Then drilled the holes the size of the stick (or dowel rod) you are using. Put a drop of glue in the hole then place the stick in. Wipe any excess glue off with a damp towel.

DSCF1289

2 coats

Oops, the grain in the wood made the drill go crazy but don’t fret if you have this issue.

TIP: Just fill the hole with glue, stick your stick in and then fill in the area not being used with glue and some of the shavings from the drilling, let it dry then touch up with some paint.

DSCF1298

Oops

Now the  really fun part, painting the faces. Have fun making them come alive.

I just used a black paint marker and my imagination.

DSCF1296

Frowns and smiles and crazy eyes

I enjoyed them so much I made some bigger ones out of a 3″ x 3″, I dug out of the firewood. Shh, don’t tell my husband.

DSCF1303

Pumpkin decorations big and small

I gave the bigger ones a bow and a leaf. I used a garland of leaves I bought at a dollar store.

TIP: if your leaves are wrinkled it is easily fixed by ironing the leaves lightly with a moderate iron.

“Happy Crafting”

This is a great craft to do with the kids or grandkids!

What is your favorite pumpkin craft? I would love to see them, post a link in the comment section so everyone can enjoy!

Also posted on Tuesday’s at our Home Blog HopHomestead Blog Hop, Think Tank Thursdays & Our Simple Homestead Blog Hop

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Decorations

  1. Pingback: Wall or Floor Pumpkin decoration | Homesteading on 4D Acres

Leave a Reply,We love to hear from you!

